New Mercedes Benz Forum Members Area Just joining us here at Mercedes Benz Forum? Stop in, say hi, introduce yourself and your ride.

Oil Consumption: Fact or Myth?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2013, 06:10 PM
Default Oil Consumption: Fact or Myth?

Hi all,

Newbie here, and never owned a MB but have a new 2013 ML350 on order.

While doing my "due diligence" I notice that on page 365 of the owner's manual that it says that the engine is designed to consume .9 qts of oil per 600 mi and this is considered normal. This also appears in owner's manuals of other MB vehicles. Are they kidding? I have owned Cadillacs, Lexus, Infiniti, Corvettes and never heard such a thing. It is hard for me to believe that MB owners would tolerate this. Are owners of new MB products really expected to carry spare qts of oil on a cross country trip?

I asked the Service Mgr of my new MB dealership and he claims that oil consumption in their vehicles is NOT an issue. If this is true, then why the disclaimer in the owner's manual?? If I go ahead and purchase this vehicle and later experience an oil burning problem is MB going to sidestep any warranty claims because of the disclaimer?

I would be interested in any comments from long time MB owners...

Old 02-22-2013, 07:04 PM

I think they are only covering their @ss.My 08 C230 doesn't use a drop.

Old 09-11-2013, 01:25 AM

My reading of the owner's manual is, not that it is normal for the engine to consume the stated amount of oil, but that it is acceptable under certain conditions, which are not clearly specified.

"Depending on the driving style, the vehicle consumes up to 0.9 US qt (0.8 liters) of oil over a distance of 600 miles (1,000 km). The oil consumption may be higher than this when the vehicle is new or if you frequently drive at high engine speeds."