Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

No acceleration 1987 300TD

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2011, 11:12 AM
Default No acceleration 1987 300TD

I have a 1987 300TD that will not get out of it's own way. It acts like it's starving for fuel, or air. Once it gets up to speed it will maintain speed , but good luck getting it there, especilly on an incline like a highway on ramp. I haven't checked anything yet, my question, besides the obvious fuel/air filters, is there anything else I might need to look at. I was thinking that there might be a turbocharger waste gate hanging up or something along those lines. This car is new to me, and I am new to Mercedes Benz, not having a book on it yet, I thought I might ask, because I don't think, by the way it's acting, it's going to be as simple as a filter change, but I also don't think it's anything serious.

Old 04-18-2011, 06:46 PM

Thanks ForcedInduction, I changed the fuel filters, and it is considerably better, but still not where I think it should be. It may be that I'm used to much bigger diesel engines. or a little injector cleaner in the fuel tank might be in order. I usually don't do that, but this engine sat still for a long time, smelled like varnish out the tail pipe. This is the second filter change since I bought it, I thought the first one would take care of it-I guess not. I'm thinking that Sea Foam or something along those lines might prevent the removal of the injectors and pump, if just running the p--- out of it dosen't work.

Old 04-18-2011, 09:11 PM

Thanks they're about a two hour drive east of me

Old 05-09-2011, 11:04 PM