Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

automatic problem

Old 12-11-2010, 09:05 AM
Default automatic problem

hi im new to this so ill do best , i have a 2005 mercedes viano 2.2 automatic diesel with 116k miles on it. the problem i have is that after driving it for about an hour in city traffic it wont change gear properly first it wont change from 4th to 5th without the rpm going very high then it changes and goes down through the gears from 3rd to 4th 2nd to 3rd its like something is overheating because if i leave it for an hour its ok for a while then it happens again,but on the motorway its fine its only when changing gear constantly that it happens. I have had the gearbox done and it is still happening has anyone any suggestions?

Old 12-29-2010, 09:00 AM
Super Moderator

a couple of things could cause those types of symptoms. One, the gearbox could be overheating especially if a passage, whic many of them are small, gets clogged and the fluid can flow properly. Anothr thing could be the computer is out of sync with what's going on in te actual gears. Now, when you had the tranny worked on, what exactly did they do to it, if you know? Did they just replace a few rubber here and there? Did they take the whle thing apart and put it back together?Or did they just change fluid? Or was there any hard parts replaced? Sometimes those types of trannys gets glitchy after a "repair" because someone did a "band-aid" job or either messed up the clearances in the clutch plates or had no idea what they were doing.

If it is overheating, the cherry red fluid will turn a bron color quick and you'll smell literally burnt transmision fluid, usuallythat is. Sounds like some internals are worn but was it doing this prior to the transmission job?

Old 12-30-2010, 04:17 AM