Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Re-drill Cross drilled rotors?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2008, 11:16 PM
Default Re-drill Cross drilled rotors?

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to this forum but I have learned a wealth of knowledge so far. I've done a search for my question but have not been bale to find an answer. It's time for my front brakes to be serviced ( I have 23k on OEM pads and rotors) and they are cross drilled. My local delaer is telling me that I don't need the rotors turned but that they do need to re-drill the cross drilled holes because of brake dust build up. Does this sound right? I've never heard of such a thing and I'm hoping to get some feed back from all the informative people here. I appreciate your responses. Also should I stay with OEM replacement pads or do dealers carry other brands that don't produce so much brake dust. This is the first vehicle I have had that has produced so much brake dust.

Old 06-20-2008, 08:48 AM
Default RE: Re-drill Cross drilled rotors?

NO NO NO!!!!!!! Do not drill or re-drill the rotors!!! I find it hard to believe a dealer told you that, but if he did, here is a great piece of advice: Don't walk, RUN AWAY FAST from that dealership. And don't go back for anything. They might try to sell you muffler bearings
the next time. Most places replace Mercedes brake pads with new rotors. The rotors are meant to wear "with" the pads. And they do, as you can see. Also, the pads put out a lot of brake dust, as you can also see on your wheels. This is just the nature of the particular pad being used. Look at a BMW some time. Same thing. Some dealerships will tell you they have a "newer" style less-dusty pad you can use. Others will say there isn't one. Independent shops seem a little more sympathetic towards the dust problem than dealerships.