Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No interior lights when doors are opened

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2007, 08:23 PM
Default No interior lights when doors are opened

Hi all!
I'm a newbie here and a newbie to Mercedes Benz cars.
We recently purchased a really nice 2004 C320 4 Matic.
We can't figure out why the interior (dome) lights won't come on when we open the doors. The dome light works fine with the manual switch on the ceiling console near the light. All of the illuminated buttons light up when we open any door, but no dome light. The dome light switch has three posistions and we tried them all. Is there something that has to be programmed in the steering wheel computer controls?
I don't know if this is related: When we turn the headlamp switch to "auto" nothing happens. No headlamps at night. I can't get the headlamp delayor interior delay to work either.
The headlamps only work with the headlamp switch turned all the way to the "on" posistion or if we have the daytime running lights option enabled.
Do I have a bad sensor?
Thanks,
Joe

Old 04-14-2007, 08:50 PM
Default RE: No interior lights when doors are opened

hi so when you put the headlight switch in auto no lights turn on at night? from the symptoms you described it does sound like a bad light sensor. on windshield behind rearview mirror.

Old 04-14-2007, 10:09 PM

Thanks for the response!
Yes, that is correct. No lights at night when switching to "auto" headlamps. And all the other things I mentioned seem to point to a bad sensor.
Does the interior light depend on the light sensor? That is, will it only come on when it's dark out?
And how about the delayed headlamps? Are they also dependant on the sensor?
Thanks,
Joe

Old 04-14-2007, 10:23 PM

I did a search here for "light sensor" and came up with a couple of posts.