General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

how much would you pay for a 1984 mercedes ....

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2007, 08:19 PM
Default how much would you pay for a 1984 mercedes ....

280te wagon with a broken timing chain, 140K miles? I haven't had the chance to look at the car yet, but I'm far from a mechanic, so I don't know all the in's and out's of dealing with a broken down used car.

The lady I spoke to said that car died while she was driving it, and it needs a new timing chain...that is supposedly the only mechnical problem with the car (so her mechanic says), though I'm a bit worried that it may have damaged the engine as well, it seems almost inevitable.
It's a grey market vehicle that looks just like the 300td, but it is a gasoline engine (I actually think it was converted from a 300td to the 280te, I've seen a few like this before). It's a really sharp looking car. The interior and exterior are in excellent condition. It's a really nice forest green color with a tan leather interior, which go beautifully together. I just saw one of these on ebay go for around $1100-1200 which was in excellent condition, and there is another one on ebay that is around the $1000 mark as of now, also in excellent condition.

The seller is asking for $1900 as is, I think that is a bit high considering the mechanical problem and the ebay market value. Also, since I would be buying the car as is, I'm not prepared to deal with additional costly repairs on a grey market vechile. Am I being too stingy?

Old 07-15-2007, 09:46 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: how much would you pay for a 1984 mercedes ....

Hi Spottedfish,

Do you have aquariums? I do.