General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

Help ABS problem!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008, 12:01 AM
Default Help ABS problem!!!!

Hey im new to this fourm and i have a few questions about the abs system on my 02 e320 sedan
The abs light/esp light and malfunction messagesare appearingon my dashthis just started appearing today
Now the abs is not working at allbecause when i slam the brakes they just lock... the pedal does not vibrate any more...
im not sure what is causing this problem or how to tell what the problem is?

im also not sure if that by the abs not working the esp is not working or if its the esp not working which is causing the abs not to work?

the car is no longer under factory warranty it isa used vehicle although it is under a 2 year unlimited powertrain warranty but i am not sure if this problem would be covered?

if this problem is not covered estimated how much would this cost to fix parts/labour?

also i have a few more questions unrelated to the abs system

on the message screen i always get an error message saying brake lining wear visit workshop
now im not sure if this is just the sensor but my pads appear to be in great shape?

and another unrelated question about my sunroof when i retract i have to keep pressing the switch cause it stops retractacting it retracts about an inch each time i press the switch how can i fix this?

any help/advice would be very much appreciated
Thank you

Old 02-27-2008, 07:25 PM
Default RE: Help ABS problem!!!!

most of the time on older E classes it is the brake light switch under the dash-fairly easy to replace but i recomend getting codes checked out-if brake pads are ok then you have a broken sensor more then likely-what happens is the rotors will cut into the sensor wires and break them open-
as far as the sunroof goes perform the following procedur