General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

1984 190e Cold start hesitation problems

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2010, 07:53 AM
Default 1984 190e Cold start hesitation problems

I've been driving this 190e for many many years. I love this car, gets me to all the shows that I go with excellent gas mileage of around 32mpg. Its got a problem when you first start it. It starts right away, but then slows down to a stop. I have to restart it several times, and eventually it goes and stays running.

I cannot step on the gas while starting it, that kills the motor. After it idles for a bit, I can press on the gas just a little and wait and it stumbles and eventually will accelerate the motor up. If I drive off, acceleration is poor with alot of hesitation but once the car is up to operating speed it runs quite normallly besides a slight miss during hard acceleration.

I opened the air cleaner and cleaned off the throttle air plate, had some gunk on top of it and on the sides of the air intake. I noticed when I throttle up it doesn't open well, seems to hesitate and vibrate when the motor is finally idling but not all the way warm yet. Once the engine is warm I pull the throttle linkage and it opens well and accelerates quite well.

When its cold, if you just start it and go to accelerate the motor it dies or slows down. But I noticed if I put my finger on this plate and push it down the right amount while pulling the throttle linkage the motor takes off right away. So this tells me its not getting air and this plate is sticking somewhat until the motor warms up. I thought about a vacuum leak but I can't see anything obvious anywhere.

I tried to clean this plate again and again on the inside where it hinges by spraying carb cleaner in there. Doesn't seem like it helped alot.