Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

Some General Mercedes Diesel Questions...

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2007, 09:15 PM
Default Some General Mercedes Diesel Questions...

(1)Is the main differance between 190D,240D, and 300D, only the horsepower each has? I am looking at some early to mid 80 models in each of these. (2) All things being equal, such as year and quality and price, which would you purchase? I am a farmer/rancher, and am only familiar with diesel tractors as far as performance and longevity. (3) If I find one of these models in decent shape as far as appearance and repairs, how many miles is too many miles? Better to rephrase this, can a 200K-250K Mercedes still be considered a dependable vehicle? (4) What is normal, as far as oil consumption for these high mileage Mercedes I am referring to? Should there be any blowby in a 200K+ car? Is 1 qt per 1000 miles considered normal, 2qt per 1000 miles? I know the 190 D does probably get the better fuel economy over the 240D and 300D, which is one of my main focus points. I am not looking for a pristene vehicle, just one that can run 20-30 miles per day on parts runs to town, and get me in the 25MPG-30MPG range. Which would you recommend? Like I stated, I am a farmer/rancher, and am used to working on quite a bit of my own equipment, so doing some work on the diesel motors would not seem strange to me. I appreciate any comments and input you may provide.
Thank you,
coadman

Old 01-18-2007, 10:46 PM
Default RE: Some General Mercedes Diesel Questions...

ORIGINAL: coadman

(1)Is the main differance between 190D,240D, and 300D, only the horsepower each has? I am looking at some early to mid 80 models in each of these.

I didn't know they made a 190 D in the 80's The 240 is good for about 67 HP, the 300 if turbo'd for about 120 HP