Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

New to the Forum...New to owner a Mercedes

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2009, 05:38 PM
Default New to the Forum...New to owner a Mercedes

hey everyone im new to the mercedes world. I just bought my very first 1982 Mercedes 300SD. from a gentleman who inherited it from his mother-in-law after she passed away. Its got 186,000 orgional miles on it and seems to be in very good shape. Some of the interior door panels need to be replaces and two of the window motors need to be replaced but other than that is wonderful. the transmission shifts a little hard which i think is due to the fact they only drove it around the block every once and a while. this is really a noob question but what kinda problems/complications can i look foward to with this kinda car.......any advice, info, comments on anything about owning one of these cars would be helpful. thanks

Old 09-14-2009, 01:54 AM

I decided to put this at the top. I do not know your experience with Diesel Engines so I will write as if you have little experience.
You will need to know this if you run out of Fuel or are not careful when you do a Fuel Filter change. That is how to bleed the air out of the Fuel System.
To bleed the Air out of the Low Pressure Fuel Supply System you pump on the Hand Primer (if an old style you unscrew the **** and pump up and down and screw it back in when done; new style just push up and down on it) until you hear a buzzing or sort of squeeling noise come from the Fuel Injection Pump. However, continue to pump to be sure. This bleeds the Air out of that portion.
To bleed the Air out of the High Pressure System (the part that provides the high pressure to the Injectors) you loosen the Steel Fuel Injection Line Nuts up at the Fuel Injectors on the Cylinder head (17mm). You Crank your Engine until Fuel comes out of all of loose nuts. Tighten them and attempt to start.