Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

My 240D is comatose - seized engine?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2007, 05:23 PM
Default My 240D is comatose - seized engine?

Oh, this is a sad post. My 1982 240D is having engine problems. Well, maybe that's only if "possible death" counts as a "problem." I fear it has seized, but either way, it won't start. To add guilt to anguish, I am afraid the reason it may have seized is that I have been driving many miles (big commutes lately) without remembering to check the oil. There is an oil leak, which may have been worse than I thought, because the engine began to screech and, as I moved to pull over, cut out. Well, then I remembered to check the oil - it was dry.

Now, I am no mechanic - I just try, and apparently fail, to pay attention. When my engine cut out, a couple things struck me as odd:
1 - this happened immediately after filling my tank with diesel. coincidence?
2 - I added some oil at the side of the highway and the car started for a moment - the engine actually did go. Since then, as I have naively used the starter to see if my car would turn over (now I hear that is a bad plan if the engine is seized - arrgh) - it's a no-go - it actually behaves similarly to when it had a totally clogged fuel line. It coughed a tiny bit, but pretty much does nothing. Can it do that if it's seized?

Well, is there any hope, do you think? I'm trying to decide whether to (a) do something myself to see if I can get it going, (b) take it in to my friendly mechanic (I'm broke), or (c) cash in my chips and give up on my beloved 240D. Any advice would be extremely appreciated - as to what the problem is, and what, if anything, I can do. As I said I'm not a car mechanic, but I'm handy and have a basic grip on things and am willing to give it a shot. THANKS!

Old 06-19-2007, 07:19 PM
Default RE: My 240D is comatose - seized engine?

how much oil did you have to add before it showed on the dipstick?