Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

Diesel: leave it running or not?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2005, 12:16 PM
Default Diesel: leave it running or not?

Since I am new to driving a diesel I have a question. Is is better to leave diesel engines running or turn them off for short periods?
For example, if I pull up to the house and am going to run inside to grab something (let's say five minutes or less), is it better for the engine (300SD) if I leave it running, or should I just turn it off to save gas?

Old 08-22-2005, 04:21 PM
Default RE: Diesel: leave it running or not?

doesn't matter.
you can turn it on and off just like a gas engine.
i have owned 2 mercedes with diesels., and then the large Detroi 671 on my 50' fishing boat..., doesn't matter.

kevin

Old 08-22-2005, 05:45 PM

Basic diesel (even Detroit with a blower) can be turned off without restrictions, however turbo on some might require some cooling before shutting down.
Mercedes have an excellent turbos, but when you run them hot and turn off right after, the hot temperature of turbo can cook the oil in it into charcoal, what is not good for future lubrication.
For short stops like mentioned I would leave it running. Diesel idle almost on vapor and it is better to be on safe side.

Old 08-23-2005, 11:46 AM

When I went to school on the 9.0 L international (many years ago) they told us to leave them running. They said that the diesel engine is at its most efficient at idle and only uses enough fuel to overcome the internal friction of the engine.

We were told on our turbo engines to allow a 2 to 5 minute cool down period after extended highway use.