New Mercedes Benz Forum Members Area Just joining us here at Mercedes Benz Forum? Stop in, say hi, introduce yourself and your ride.

transmissions

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2009, 09:31 PM
Default transmissions

Hello,

I am new to forum, but not new to Mercedes. I have 12 yrs of experience on me and if I can help with drive line issues just let me know.

Old 02-10-2009, 01:54 PM
Default I'll take you up on that!

Just purchased a '74 240d. I have three questions regarding the transmission:

1. When I put it in gear (3 speed auto), I have to pull it down a bit further than the gear I want before it goes into the gear, then I push it back, and it works.

2. When it's in park, it still rolls...I have to use the E-brake.

3. when I come to a stop, it shudders as the engine returns to idle. If I put it in neutral, or wait for a few seconds, the shuddering stops/lessens.

Otherwise, it shifts through all gears normall when driving. What would cause any or all of the problems mentioned? Also (sorry!) I've heard on old automatics if you change the fluid, and it's never been changed, you risk your tranny no longer shifting...this true?

Thank in Advance!

Old 02-11-2009, 10:03 PM

He is right, your shifter bushing is wore out, it just a white rubber bushing and over time they get hard and break out. You probably do have a 3 speed trans, 4 speeds didnt come out unit the 80's. You probably have a 772.1 or 722.3 trans.

Old 02-12-2009, 10:01 AM

Thank you all for the info. Another question - are these fixes a novice could do with a repair manual, or better off taking it to a transmission shop?

The reason I thought it was a three is that it just has two low gear settings, and then drive - but no indication of O/D. You all would know far better than I would whether its a 3 or 4 speed.

Old 02-12-2009, 10:03 AM