Mercedes SL Class Mercedes SL500 and Mercedes SL600 Roadsters.

First Merc 500SL thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2014, 10:45 AM
Default First Merc 500SL thoughts?

Looking at purchasing my first Mercedes, a 2005 SL500 with 47K miles. Exceptionally clean. I'm an automotive electrical engineer by background, and an hobbyist wrench, so I can handle most DIY fixes. But since I've never owned a Merc before, and am simply responding to lust over the SL, I have signed into this forum to ask advice. I've read I bit of discussion here regarding suspension issues, and wonder if there's an expedient way to verify that the system is OK (car looks to sit level) or if there are other common problems I should check into before purchase. Any/all advise vastly appreciated!

Old 09-06-2014, 12:33 PM

Other than using normal indicators to tell you the car has been taken care of, is the ABC fluid level right and is it clean, etc... Obvious stuff like does the body sink after being parked is an indicator of some of the valve blocks not maintaining the pressure isolation. I am not sure there is a way to tell/predict what it will do in the future. I have heard of people doing the old fashioned bounce test, but I would have thought that being hydraulic would make that test a moot point. I know my accumulator was groaning as it went bad, and I understand the pump makes the same type groan when it starts to fail. But that would be obvious to you. Maybe a pressure test will tell you if the pump is on its way out.