Mercedes E Class Mercedes E320 and Mercedes E500 Sedans and Wagons.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Questions - where is plugin for diagnostics on e320?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2006, 06:07 PM
Default Newbie Questions - where is plugin for diagnostics on e320?

Hi Sorry if its an obvious answer but I am a newbie - collected my car today a 2000 e320 estate and need to plugin my 16 pin diagnostic tool to check all thats wrong with car - if anyone knows where I plug it in that woukd be great.

another newbie question - what exactly is involved in a B major service? - car has done 60K miles - but has been standing in drive way for 18 months.

current errors include: ABS,BAS,ESP, and washer bottle doesnt pump - when the car is switched off it says 4 malfunctions - but doesnt mention what they are - hence the diagnostic plugin....;-)

Another weird thing is that the two small LCDs on the dash either side of the main display arent visible and show garbled info - what fixes are there for this?

cheers & thanks for your answers in advance

JCG (UNITED KINGDOM)

Old 09-28-2006, 06:50 PM
Default RE: Newbie Questions - where is plugin for diagnostics on e320?

I CAN ONLY ANSWER THE LOCATION FOR THE SCAN TOOL. IF YOU OPEN YOUR DRIVERS DOOR AND GET DOWN ON ONE KNEE, LOOKING UNDER THE DASH, BETWEEN THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE BRAKE PEDAL, YOU'LL SEE THE SMALL BLACK DOOR THAT OPENS DOWN. BEHIND THIS, YOU'LL FIND THE LOCATION OF THE DIAGNOSTIC PIN. I RECOOMEND YOU DO THE DIAGNOSTIC ON THE CLIMATE CONTROL AS WELL. YOU DONT NEED THE SCAN TOOL. YOU CAN RUN THE CHECK RIGHT ON THE CLIAMTE CONTROL. JSUT TO GET A PICTURE OF ANY FAULT CODES IN THERE. SEARCH FOR THE PROCEDURE ON HOW TO EXTRACT THE CODES (DTC'S) FOR CLIMATE CONTROL. YOU'LL BE AMAZED ON HOW USEFUL IT WILL BE. (AND INVEST IN THE "KEYS AND HOOKS" TO PULL THE CLUSTER OUT AS WELL AS THE RADIO/CLIMATE CONTROL. WELL WORTH THE INVESTMENT.)

Old 10-01-2006, 06:13 PM

Hi PLYRHATR,