Mercedes E Class Mercedes E320 and Mercedes E500 Sedans and Wagons.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie With New E240 with lots of ??s

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2006, 09:02 PM
Default Newbie With New E240 with lots of ??s

Greeting Guy's

This is my first post as I have just come over from the Darkside (BMW 525i M Tech) and have finnally bit the bullet and purchased my 2003 E240 (New Model) Classic. But being a newbie I have a few questions which would be great if you pros could answer them for me.

1) I live in Ireland. Would anybody know what sort of realistic fuel consumption I would get out of this car. I have a middling driving style, my car is a petrol, automatic with 38K on the clock. The driving I do is mostly motorway where I commute 35 miles each way to work across Irelands notorious M50.

2) I keep on hearing this mumbled electronics sound in the car at any particular time. When test driving the car the salesguy said it was the computer checking all the systems in the car and that this happened all the time???

3) I also noticed that where the cd changer is situated in the dash, right beside the headrest button the lights dont come on? Is this car prone to electrical problems.

4) What sort of re-occuring problems have people had with this car, is it particulay troublesome (LIke the BMW 5 series E60).

5) I want to take the classic Badges off my car and put on the elegence ones. I know this means changing the strips on the bumper and side mouldings? Are these expensive and does anyone have any contacts where we could get these bits cheaper???

I really appreciate your help with these questions and I am sorry for asking questions that have been answered by members before,

cheers Morgan

[&:]

[&:]

Old 08-20-2006, 06:29 AM
Default RE: Newbie With New E240 with lots of ??s

Hi,
1) Fuel consumption is primarily down to driving style, "Middling" isn't sufficiently descriptive of a style.