Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.

New 2004 C230K owner

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2007, 07:56 PM
Default New 2004 C230K owner

Hi, I recently purchased a 2004 C230 Kompressor Sport Coupe with 53,000 miles on it. I'm new to Mercedes, and I'm not at all familiar with the reliability of this model. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I need? It's past 50k miles, so it's out of warranty, and I've been wondering if I should purchase an extended warranty from the dealer. The sales guy told me that it has 5,500 miles before it needs to be serviced. I've been told that it'll cost around $2500 for 2 years from the JM&A Group, which is what the dealer uses and recommends.

Any ideas/suggestions? I'd really appreciate it!

Old 12-08-2007, 09:43 AM
Default RE: New 2004 C230K owner

If you'll pardon the expression, this extended warranty issue is a bit of a crap shoot. You might get lucky and you might not.
I wasn't with my '05 C230K, which decided to eat it's supercharger later on in life. That alone would have cost me over $3,500. to have replaced. So, in my particular case, the extended warranty I bought for the car when it was new paid for itself right there.
Then there were several other issues and so on. Does this mean your car won't go to 100K miles without a glitch? No. Not really.
It just might be perfect and never break. This car has a few issues but I wasn't lucky on one of them and it was a fairly rare thing.