Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.

help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

  #1  
Old 10-11-2004, 10:26 PM
rv
rv is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

Hello All,
I'm new to the forum but have enjoyed reading the posts for a while.
I hope someone can help.
I have a 1996 c220 with 82K miles. It began to stall the other day after a period of normal driving. It would not restart until after several minutes and several cranks. The engine turned over fine, no start though. I plugged it into the my OBD scanner and the codes
p1335 and p0600 pop up. I think the p1335 is for the crankshaft position sensor but I have no idea where it is on this car. I would like to know if anyone can help.
Thanks
RV
 
  #2  
Old 10-12-2004, 01:03 AM
sleepwalker's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philippine Islands
Posts: 7,045
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

many of the posters here who got the same complaints found that the crankshaft position sensor connector is loose or the unit itself.

it's on the rear part of the engine from the top... on the bell housing. aligned with starter gear.
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-2004, 03:43 AM
rv
rv is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

Thanks Sleepwalker I have read a lot of your replies to several posts.
one final question(a and b) about the CKP sensor-a)can I get to it through the hood or have to go underneath?
b) what does it look like?
Thanks again,
rv
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-2004, 05:26 AM
sleepwalker's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philippine Islands
Posts: 7,045
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

the figure number five and eight is the crankshaft position sensor.
i prefer reaching it under hood.

[IMG]local://upfiles/1/73CD57C751D64897A86220AD6C9907B9.jpg[/IMG]
 
  #5  
Old 10-12-2004, 08:30 PM
rv
rv is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

Sleepwalker,
Thanks again for the pic. it should make finding it much easier.
But not to keep beating a dead horse I was looking lastnight online to buy a new one and became a little confused.
They were selling a "reference sensor" in one place and a "crank position sensor" at the other, both also had camshaft sensors etc. I've heard of a CKP sensors referred to as a reference sensor, but I am not positive.
Basically, are these the same?
Thanks,
RV
 
  #6  
Old 10-12-2004, 11:15 PM
sleepwalker's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philippine Islands
Posts: 7,045
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

you're welcome rv.

they could also mean camshaft position sensor because it's function is mainly for refference... if the crankshaft sensor gets faulty while the engine is running, the camshaft position sensor signal will be used as a substitute value.

if you can give me your complete VIN number, i can tell you the exact part number of crankshaft position sensor-------to avoid confusion.
 
  #7  
Old 10-13-2004, 02:30 AM
rv
rv is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

Hello Sleepwalker,
I sent you an email with the VIN and a question regarding engine access.
Looking forward to your reply.
Thanks again,
RV
 
  #8  
Old 10-13-2004, 07:07 AM
sleepwalker's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philippine Islands
Posts: 7,045
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

part number is:

003 153 75 28
or
003 153 73 28 (old stock).

removing it:

remove the starter
remove cruise control actuator
place to one side the windshield washer reservoir

not an easy job eh?
 
  #9  
Old 10-13-2004, 01:52 PM
rv
rv is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

Sleepwalker,
Well I bought the sensor this morning, cheapest place at the dealership-if you can believe that!
I am going to start and try to get to the sensor by removing the parts you mentioned.

Question: Once I get to the sesnor any special instructions or tools for its removal/installation?
Thanks for all your help,
RV
 
  #10  
Old 10-13-2004, 11:06 PM
sleepwalker's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philippine Islands
Posts: 7,045
Default RE: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600

yes, it only cost $65 without other fee.

you may remove the battery first if you will lower down the starter... or just pay attention to the positive cable. (radio code needed if battery is disconnected).

if you will do it slowly and religiously, you will enjoy the experience of exploring through DIY.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
grkace
Mercedes E Class
0
02-02-2010 09:00 AM
wfhart
Mercedes C Class
0
02-17-2006 01:00 AM
Silvere430
General Tech
2
01-27-2006 03:46 AM
slklover
General Tech
13
02-14-2005 08:07 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: help with fault codes:p1335;p0600


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.