General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

New to Mercedes/need advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2007, 07:20 PM
Default New to Mercedes/need advice

Hey everyone, I'm new to the Mercedes world. I purchased a 2000 S430. Have a couple of questions (and probably more in the future) about repairs to the vehicle. Do you have to take the car to the dealership for repairs? Do you have to buy parts from the MB dealership or is there someplace that has parts at a cheaper price? I have 2 issues that I hope doesnt cost an arm and a leg to fix: my check engine light is on but the car runs great. Also the window washer seem to not work. Any suggestions? Oh yeah, my navigation system seems to not know where it is...lol. And whatever else I should know.

Thanks everyone.

Old 07-23-2007, 01:55 AM
Default RE: New to Mercedes/need advice

Hi,
Need to get DTc (Diagnostic Codes) read to determine FAULT that caused CEL Check Engine Light to illuminate.
Only then can we assist in advising what might be wrong.
IF the CEL is ON something needsattention!!

Winscreen Washer.
Button tends to be very heavy and needs a real good push to overcome a detent?
Could this be your problem?

Stuart.

Old 07-23-2007, 12:15 PM

I'll check this out on the window washer. I ordered a diagnostic tool last night so I hope it will be here this week. Thank you for the reply.

Old 07-23-2007, 12:22 PM

Ok, I checked the the window washers and they work. Just had to push a little harder like you said.

Old 07-26-2007, 05:02 PM

Ok guys, I received my diagnostic tool today and hooked it up to the car. I got 2 different codes that showed up when I read it for the first time.

0400 - Exhaust gas recirculation malfunction Function chain

5074 - Sporadically Gear oil temperature sensor Y3/6b1 Starter lockout contact Y3/6

After the car ran for about 5 minutes I read the codes 3 more times and it only displayed the 0400 code for those 3 readings.

What does this all mean and what should I do?