General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

Front suspension parts replacement

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006, 10:33 PM
Default Front suspension parts replacement

Took our MB to the dealer to have it checked out. They noted a few items that will need to be replaced, but are OK for now. Most of this stuff should be relatively easy, but I have never done work on a Benz before. At the prices they quoted, DYI is the way to go. I have a lot of experience working on cars.

One thing I'll need is a decent repair manual, something that seems hard to find. There is THIS ONE on Ebay, is it any good. Or maybe THIS ONE from Manuals unlimited. Is there any place else to get decent manuals?

What it looks like I'll be needing is:

Lower Ball Joints. I'm thinking this is a pretty straight forward repair. Anything unique about Benz ball joints? Dealer quote $220

Front Control Arm Bushings. Kits are available for about $50. Dealers quote - $680

Engine Mounts - I have not crawled around to see what is involved, but can pick them up for about $80 ea.

Transmission Mount - A $30 part. Dealer quote for engine and transmission mount $590.

Is there anything that difficult involved with the above repairs that someone that has a lot of experience working on cars should shy away from?

I did ask about the tray thing to replace the cassette holder undernieth the radio and was told it is not avaiable for 1998s (bummer)

I did get a print out of the VMI which is pretty cool as I did not have any service records for the vehicle (besides a couple of oil changes, which with 22K miles is probably about all that should have been done).

The VMI did note a couple of Campaigns that were closed for the W202 Battery Check which I have read about and something with the Harmonic Balancer which it looks like was just inspected.