General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

1985 380 v8 Gas . no power, stalls

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2014, 04:16 AM
Default 1985 380 v8 Gas . no power, stalls

Hi. I am new here. I am an Auto Mechanic for 30 years, and am only slightly familiar with mechanical fuel injection. Long story short. A car in My shop a 1985 Benz 380 gas no turbo engine towed in. It will start for a few seconds and stall out. If I add supplemental fuel into the throttle body it will run, and strangely, after about 30 seconds, if I stop adding xtra gas it will run rather well on its own with plenty of power, but a rough idle. After engine is turned off, upon restart, the same condition exists all over. The fuel pump was relaced, the filter is new, and the vacuum lines appear to be all connected and ok on visual inspection. Anybody got an idea what it may be the cause?
I would be most grateful for an answer, and maybe even give a reward. Also My many years of experience may hopefully help someone on this forum . Thanx, David W Choate.... My email is planecrusher@gmail.com

Old 11-13-2014, 08:28 PM

Hi David. I am new to this forum as well. Most of my limited experience is with gas models 1990 and newer. I assume you have already verified fuel pump operation when key is on or when engine is cranking. Also, if you have not done so already, crack open the fuel supply line at the fuel distributor housing (Continuous Injection System) to verify whether or not it has fuel pressure when the problem is occurring.

Old 11-13-2014, 08:58 PM

Aside from the typical tune-up checks, there are also some other things to keep in mind concerning rough idle, stalling, or no-start conditions.