Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

What Benz should I buy?

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2010, 09:58 AM
Default What Benz should I buy?

Hi, Everyone
I am new to this forum and am looking to maybe replace my current car with a Mercedes turbo diesel. I found a decent deal on one down the road from me but it is on the list of ones not to buy at the top of this forum. Its a 93 300D 2.5 Turbo with 230,000 runs good great shape inside and out except needs headlights, grill, hood, and radiator cross bracket, and front fans from rear ending a truck. I am curious why this car is on the do not buy list if someone could fill me in with known problems with these cars. Also I would like to know what different years and models if I find one in the right price range should I jump on?? Must be Turbo diesel, Auto, four door sedan. I appreciate all of your input and look forward to reading your responses. I am a mechanic for a living but haven't spent too much time working on Mercedes diesels. Had a 81 240d non turbo about ten years ago that I loved but it needed a turbo bad.

Old 10-18-2010, 03:11 PM

I am not sure if your particular car is one that has these problems but some of the 6-Cylinders had issues with the Connection Rods Bending and/or problems with the Cylinder Head.
The non-TDI Diesels with Aluminum Heads have had issues with the ends of the Glow Plugs snapping off when you try to remove them. This does not happen all of the time but you need to be aware that it can happen.

If they snap off they need to be drilled out. If you take it to a shop to do that you will find that it makes more money for the shop and safer for them if they remove you Cylinder Head and send it to a Machine Shop than it is to attemt to do it themselves.