Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

Rough cold start (brand new MB owner)

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2009, 09:08 AM
Default Rough cold start (brand new MB owner)

Hello all,

I just bought a an 84 300D Turbo 5cyl 123 chassis. I am brand new to MB's and Diesels . It runs great but I am trying to get to the bottom of a rough startup problem. It has been 40-60 degrees here in WI everytime I have started the car, but unless it is hooked up to its block heater the start is rough, it usually dies and then I restart and it blows a lot of white smoke and I have to let it warm up for a while while it idles rough. This is not really fun as I drive around town I am esp. fearful about next winter being places w/o a plug for my block heater. I have two thoughts of what I can do:

1st Glow Plugs, I have not done the continuity test, but will when I get time. The Glow plug indicator light works, but I wondered if they could just be operating less efficiently or maybe a few do not work and a few do. Does this happen? Anything I should look for in getting new plugs.

Also

2nd Diesel Purge Kit: the previous owner bragged about running it on straight WVO in summer (even though from the title I can see he only owned it this winter?) and 50/50 mix in winter. My fear is that he did not use a more robust (i.e. heavyier micron) fuel filter and I need to clean this thing out. How often should these diesels receive a purge?

Just for my own edification, if I was to run WVO would I need a heavier duty specialty set of fuel filters?

I appreciate the help considering that I have been bitten by the Merc. Diesel bug!

-TB

Old 03-18-2009, 09:25 AM

Do not run WVO. Ever. Chances are your combustion chambers are gummed up with the crap and with the white smoke, it may already be too late for your engine.