Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

question about glow plug indicator

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2009, 04:01 PM
Default question about glow plug indicator

hey guys im still a noob to this entire world of mercedes and diesel. my question is i know you have to turn the key to position 2 to let the glow plugs warm up before you start the motor. wait till the yellow indicator light goes off then its safe to start. my problem is my indicator lite in the dash comes on and then goes immediatly off. i wait till the battery buzz stops and then count to eight and it seems to crank up fine.....any help would be great on why the light would just come on and then go immediatly off???? Help me please i really like my 300sd and look forward to having it and restoring it for many years....i dont wanna do anything to hurt her

Old 09-16-2009, 10:40 PM

The Glow Plug Light is connected to a temp sensor inside of the Glow Plug Relay and give and indication of how long to to keep your Glow Plugs on. However, The Glow Plug timer is actually independant of the Light. If you keep the Key in the PreGlow position long enough you may hear you Relay click off.

Another use for the Gloe Plug Indicator Light is if you have a problem with some of your Glow Plugs it will act funny.
Go to the Diesel Giant (spelling?) and he has a Pictoral on how to test your Glow Plugs with a Volt/Ohm Meter. (This is not a recommendation to buy parts from him.)

So either it is warm where you are and your Glow Plug Light is turning off fast becaust the temp sensor is telling it to turn off or you have a problem with 1 or more Glow Plugs.

Also, pull the plastic cover off of the Glow Plug Relay and you will see it has a Metal Strip Fuse (80 amp). You might consider buying an extra one (Winter is coming). I have never burned on but mine developed a Crack and I have read of others haveing them crack also.

Attached Thumbnails question about glow plug indicator-v.jpg