Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

Inheriting 300D Turbo - Know Nothing, Total Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2013, 06:12 PM
Default Inheriting 300D Turbo - Know Nothing, Total Newbie

Hey everyone --

Just joined this forum. I'm going to be the owner of a 300D Turbo because my grandparents are giving it to me. I'm pretty excited, but I keep hearing how expensive it may be to maintain the car.

I know absolutely nothing about cars, but should I expect an arm and a leg to own this car? I'd love to keep the car in the family, but if it's too costly, it won't be worth it.

Also, it hasn't been used in awhile, so we're taking it to a shop to have it inspected. Are there any specific questions I should ask the mechanic?

Again, I know nothing.

Thanks in advance.

Old 01-25-2013, 02:42 PM
Default Fyi

Originally Posted by richardonthego
Hey everyone --

Just joined this forum. I'm going to be the owner of a 300D Turbo because my grandparents are giving it to me. I'm pretty excited, but I keep hearing how expensive it may be to maintain the car.

I know absolutely nothing about cars, but should I expect an arm and a leg to own this car? I'd love to keep the car in the family, but if it's too costly, it won't be worth it.

Also, it hasn't been used in awhile, so we're taking it to a shop to have it inspected. Are there any specific questions I should ask the mechanic?

Again, I know nothing.

Thanks in advance.
To save BIG money, I suggest you learn how to repair this car, you will need this.
W123 service manual free from MB
Untitled Document

I also suggest subscribing to Mercedes EPC (Electronic Parts Catalog).
EPC-net Online

If you have difficulty, try using Internet Explorer and:
Remove all versions of JAVA on your computer using add or remove programs or programs and features in the control panel.

Go to Java Downloads for All Operating Systems Version 6 Update 38