Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

About to buy 1981 300d

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009, 08:00 AM
Default About to buy 1981 300d

Hey, guys and gals, I am new here. I am new to the whole diesel thing, but I have been around the 300d since they have been out and have always loved them.
I found one that I wish to buy, the guy says he has just dropped 2k into it, "164,000 Original miles I recently put $2,000 into this car fixing the A/C, heater, Radiator, transmission, and alternator. It runs great and will last a lifetime. It has all leather interior, and the interior is in good condition. Gets over around 26MPG on highway and 20MPG in town. I bought the Biodiesel conversion kit (just hoses, no tank) and will include it with the sale of the vehicle. Power Steering, Power Windows, Power Sunroof, CD player, New Tires, Leather interior, Ice cold A/C, No accidents, Non-smoker, Runs & drives great, Very clean interior"

What questions should I be asking him and when I inspect it, what should I be looking for, noises, smooth idle, brake stuff, etc...really anything you can think of. I am not a car guy, but would love to make this car my daily family driver and make it my hobby taking care of it. I will bring my mechanic with me also, but any tips will be helpful.

I appreciate your time and consideration.
Have a good one!
Cheers!

Old 07-30-2009, 11:29 PM
Default For sure...

I wont be using the bio diesel or veggie oil thing.

Yeah, $2000 in maintainence definitely doesn't mean an extra 2000 on price, it just means he has been keeping it up. That is on him. He wants 2800 for it.

Are there areas where i should look for any known typical issues that may cost me $$$ later down the road? Should I look at the odometer tamper screws to make sure the miles are what he says they are, is that possible? I will be using this for my daily driver with 2 kids, 4 & 7 yrs old.