New Mercedes Benz Forum Members Area Just joining us here at Mercedes Benz Forum? Stop in, say hi, introduce yourself and your ride.

1991 300D Transmission stuck on first !

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2014, 10:17 AM
Default 1991 300D Transmission stuck on first !

Hello everyone. I am a retired US Army soldier who is in North Carolina. I always wanted a totally mechanical Diesel car. At last a week ago, I got a 1991 300D 2.5 TD. For the last 13 years it was kept and not driven. It has 137K Miles on it.

I put about 150 hard driving miles on it after I changed the oil, oil filter, and the fuel filters. Last Saturday after about 27 miles of driving, the transmission stuck on first and that is it! The reverse is working fine.
I disconnected the shift down switch under the accelerator and tested it, no change.
I read that another possible cause can be from the solenoid on the left side of the transmission, so I have to check that one out.

If that is not, any other things I should do?
Any help would be appreciated.

Old 07-03-2014, 01:54 PM

Thanks much for the help.

I need to educate myself a lot! I have no clue where the governor assembly is located!

Thanks again.

Old 07-07-2014, 12:13 PM

Wow! I sure missed that picture you had attached. That was my senior moment of that day.

Thanks ForcedInduction.

By the way, what is Transmission Control Module, and where is it located at?

Old 07-08-2014, 09:26 AM

Thanks again ForcedInduction. An internet Mercedes part shop is trying to sell me the part. I am glad I got your message. It saved me $50.

I heard that if the transmission filter is dirty, it will prevent proper pressure for gears to progress through. So, I have ordered the transmission filter and the gasket and will change the filter and the ATF this coming weekend.

I have taken off the underneath plastic covers and traced the vacuum line. All connected with no cracks in them.