Mercedes Forum - Mercedes Benz Enthusiast Forums

Mercedes Forum - Mercedes Benz Enthusiast Forums (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/)
-   New Mercedes Benz Forum Members Area (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/new-mercedes-benz-forum-members-area-4/)
-   -   1991 300D Transmission stuck on first ! (https://mercedesforum.com/forum/new-mercedes-benz-forum-members-area-4/1991-300d-transmission-stuck-first-54816/)

MRowsh 07-02-2014 10:17 AM

1991 300D Transmission stuck on first !

Hello everyone. I am a retired US Army soldier who is in North Carolina. I always wanted a totally mechanical Diesel car. At last a week ago, I got a 1991 300D 2.5 TD. For the last 13 years it was kept and not driven. It has 137K Miles on it.

I put about 150 hard driving miles on it after I changed the oil, oil filter, and the fuel filters. Last Saturday after about 27 miles of driving, the transmission stuck on first and that is it! The reverse is working fine.
I disconnected the shift down switch under the accelerator and tested it, no change.
I read that another possible cause can be from the solenoid on the left side of the transmission, so I have to check that one out.

If that is not, any other things I should do?
Any help would be appreciated.

MRowsh 07-03-2014 01:54 PM

Thanks much for the help.

I need to educate myself a lot! I have no clue where the governor assembly is located!

Thanks again.

MRowsh 07-07-2014 12:13 PM

Wow! I sure missed that picture you had attached. That was my senior moment of that day.

Thanks ForcedInduction.

By the way, what is Transmission Control Module, and where is it located at?

MRowsh 07-08-2014 09:26 AM

Thanks again ForcedInduction. An internet Mercedes part shop is trying to sell me the part. I am glad I got your message. It saved me $50.