Mercedes SL Class Mercedes SL500 and Mercedes SL600 Roadsters.

oil pressure

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2009, 09:10 PM
Default oil pressure

My 94 SL500 suddenly has no oil pressure on the gauge at idle, It goes up with engine rpm and at 1,000 rpm the gauge is on 1, at 3,000 rpm it is at 3 The engine sounds and runs fine. It is looking at 200,000 miles. Has anyone experienced this problem?

Old 03-30-2009, 03:56 AM

the best we can hope for is the oil pressure switch. start there. unless she has been abused, like 50k interval oil changes. everything else can go wrong ON the engine, but inside, I doubt mechanically there is anything wrong including the oil pump and bearings (a maybe). except for the timing chain, seals she's pretty darn great. good luck on all other convenience features.

Last edited by brookings; 03-30-2009 at 04:04 AM.
Old 03-30-2009, 08:40 PM

I have no knowledge of the history of this car. I bought it recently as a project car only because I got it real cheap. I am not opposed to pulling the engine and going through it but NOT if it is not needed. As stated the engine makes no unusual noises and does not have excessive blow by when you remove the oil fill cap. Is there a low oil pressure cut off because when the oil pressure dropped the engine quit. It started right up and I went straight home and it hasn't moved since. I grew up in my fathers auto repair shop but quit that business in '77. I have no Mercedes experience so do not know their quirks. When completed it will be used often for trips around the western states and I do not want any road trouble. Is there anything in this engine that is subject to sudden failure at this mileage? I am thinking in particular of valve train as it appears that there is probably a lot of chain and sprockets in there. The car needs much work, is there somewhere I can obtain a complete factory repair manual without selling my first born into indentured servitude? I would love to have the whole thing steam c