Mercedes SL Class Mercedes SL500 and Mercedes SL600 Roadsters.

Alignment issues with my 2002 SL500

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2009, 12:57 PM
Default Alignment issues with my 2002 SL500

Ever since I put new tires on my 2002 SL500 and had it aligned it drifts to the right on both freeways and surface streets. I have checked the alignment and was told by my indie MB mechanic that it is set perfectly on the alignment machine. I understand that this may be normal on freeways which are crowned (but even in the #1 lane which appears to be crowned to the left?).

a) Is there a trick to aligning the SL500?
b) Does it have to be set to track slightly to the left to cause it to track
straight on the road?
c) Is this an inherent problem with the SL500 that my mechanic is not
aware of?

It is very annoying so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike

Old 12-29-2009, 02:41 PM

im no expert in these matters, but i believe the key lies in one point..NEW TIRES..
if the problem was not exhibited before the tire change, it seems logical to look there.
id suggest air pressure , assuming that you replaced them with the same or recommended
size...i have a 2003 sl 500 and it is quite sensitive to air pressure variation in ride and steer.
any comments on tire type , size and pressure.

Old 12-30-2009, 06:35 AM

Good point ab4jy. Almost everyone says their MB pulls right. If your mechanic was a little lazy and didn't set the rear toe this could be an issue also. Many times on alignments the rear toe can be in the green but the track angle can be wrong. causing a pull. I like to set the track angle positive a little. This will help fight the pull to the right. Did he give you a print out? If so you can see what the track angle is. If you have a tire pull. Rotate the front tires left to right and see if the pull changes. The car will pull to the bad tire.

Old 12-30-2009, 05:47 PM