Mercedes S Class Mercedes S350, Mercedes S430, Mercedes S500 and Mercedes S600 Sedans.

oil in coolant

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2006, 01:05 PM
Default oil in coolant

so the other day before my usual "pre drive" inspection on my 1991 300se .. i loooked in my radiator expansion tank and much to my dismay i found a slight layer of oil in the tank. I checked the oil - no coolant apparent in the oil (its not milky). Oil does leak .. it looks like the back end of the engine.. i haven't exactly found the "leak" yet.. but i am thinkin it is the head gasket. It could be the valve cover gasket too.. I need to take a closer look. I was reading some where that some how oil got into the coolant by other means besides a leaky head gasket (something like a clogged radator would create a vaccum and suck in oil and exhaust air from the the oil cooler, which doesn't make any sense to me because i see no connection between the two.) I am an airplane mechanic so I know how to wrench.. but really have never worked a major job on a car, I am pretty sure I can do a head gasket job myself, save me $1400... the car has lots of room and a straight forward engine.. thats why i bought it, ive only owned it for a month tho.. and am kind of mad that i have to do such a repair right away.. it has 127000 on it. When I bought it, it had a slight oil leak.. figured it was the valve cover gasket.. guess I should of spent $150 on a pre inspection before purchasing it. Thats what I get!! What are your thoughts about oil in the coolant.

Old 07-06-2006, 02:09 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: oil in coolant

Check the head gasket.

Old 07-06-2006, 10:23 PM

i agree headgasket.

Old 07-07-2006, 12:03 AM