Mercedes E Class Mercedes E320 and Mercedes E500 Sedans and Wagons.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stiff Power Steering - '99 E300 Turbo-D

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2004, 03:07 PM
Default Stiff Power Steering - '99 E300 Turbo-D

Hi everybody,

I have just been through absolute hell getting the local Mercedes dealer to repair a tensioning fault on the big belt that runs the alternator (amongst other things) on my car. After the 3rd trip back in and a 2nd bill I thought they had fixed it and all seemed well until I got home and noticed that the power steering is much much heavier than before when driving at town or parking speeds. Before the repair the steering got lighter the slower you went and it could be turned very easily whereas now it really takes a bit of effort to park the car.

I'm no expert but I understand this belt also runs the power steering pump and upon inspection it seems perfect. I was hoping somebody on here has had a similar problem or knows how the dealer could have fitted the new belt or tensioner wrongly to cause the pump not to run properly.

In case it helps the parts they replaced are as follows:

Spring: Part #: 001 545 01 09
Belt: Part#: 011 997 85 92
Belt Tensioner: Part #: 604 200 02 14

I really would be grateful of any advice as this dealer is absolutely hopeless! They want over a months advance notice for a booking (even though the repair is one they didn't do correctly before) and then claim nothing is wrong with the car when you go in with it! At least if I have a rough idea what could be wrong I can perhaps pursuade them more easily tomorrow.

Thanks very much in advance.

Greetings,
Michael

Old 07-30-2004, 10:47 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Stiff Power Steering - '99 E300 Turbo-D

it's a backjob, and must be done without the booking list entry.

was it using a serpentine belt? the routing must be wrong.

Old 08-11-2004, 06:58 PM