Mercedes E Class Mercedes E320 and Mercedes E500 Sedans and Wagons.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My CPO Horror Story and why I left the brand

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2012, 12:02 AM
Exclamation My CPO Horror Story and why I left the brand

Let's start with the facts: I'm no newbie. I've owned 10 cars in my life and 4 of them have been Mercedes. I had a new 2004 E500, a new 2007 CLS550, a new 2008 GL320 CDI, and finally, a CPO 2009 E320 Bluetec.

I purchased said Bluetec from Mercedes of Buckhead in Atlanta on May 7th of 2011. Alpine White with Premium 1 and Full Leather Packages, a Florida car with 26,199 miles. I flew to Atlanta from Raleigh to pick up the car, inspect it, and drive it home. Visually, it was great. On the test drive I suspected the tires were overinflated (which they were) and the car was out of alignment. I was told the car had been aligned when the new tires were put on and it was probably just flat spots. I purchased the extended CPO warranty to 135K miles and went on my way. On the ride home, the car shook violently over 70mph and the satellite radio and Tele-Aid/mbrace, were both non-functional.

Upon my return home, I emailed my salesperson to say that the car was still shaking and the Tele-Aid and Sirius weren't working and that I would be taking it to have the alignment and balance checked. The response I received was: "Thanks for the update and I know you will enjoy the car. Wow...36 MPG...that's great. Keep me posted and have fun with your car! Thank you again for your business! John"

Definitely not concerned.

A month later when my tags hadn't shown up and I called the dealership, no one knew what was going on. The paperwork hadn't been sent to NC, the taxes hadn't been paid. Nothing had happened. At the end of it all, I paid a 600 DOLLAR doc fee all so I could go down to the DMV myself, do the paperwork and get my own tags. This was after they REPEATEDLY assured me, "We do this ALL THE TIME."