Mercedes E Class Mercedes E320 and Mercedes E500 Sedans and Wagons.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

01 E320 brake pad life..

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2007, 11:23 PM
Default 01 E320 brake pad life..

Hi.. I am the proud owner of a 01 E320 and have been replacing brake pads every 15K miles... Using factory parts... isn't this a bit too frequent? Lots of freeway miles and I am a smooth mellow driver...
Love to hear some feedback!
Thanx.

Old 07-13-2007, 02:08 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 01 E320 brake pad life..

Yeah, something is wrong with that.

These are the things that I know will prematurely wear pads.
1) I have noticed that cross drilled rotors have a tendency to "grate" off brake material rather fast.
2) I have noticed that brake shops often do a "less than Mercedes" job of turning rotors, actually creating two NEW problems. One: if the cutting bit is cracked or dull, while turning the rotors, it will leave a very abrasive finish, which will grate-off brake material for nearly a year. Two" if they do not mount the rotor on the lathe properly, it will be "out-of-plane", and not parallel with the hub, which causes it to wobble at speed when installed. Both defects are absolutely unacceptable; yet they happen every day. If you would buy a "dial indicator", youwould be shocked to see how much precision you lose after the first brake job. High-end brake shops know better; Race shops are usually experts, discount shops are often the worst.
3) Lastly, there may be an imbalance of brake pressure caused by polluted fluid, which would cause one or more pad set to perform most/more of the braking. Bleed your brakes;change out brake fluid each year.
4) Oh yeah, "damaged spindles" can cause the brakes to wear badly. Have you hit and curbs? A bent spindle can cause the rotor to be out of alignment to the caliper. You can determine this buy analysing the brake pads. Are they wearing flat, or do they wear at an angle?

tell me about it.

Blue

Old 07-16-2007, 02:20 AM