Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

w203 C320 Wagon - No crank, No start. Confusing diagnostics. Help appreciated.

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2023, 01:12 AM
Default w203 C320 Wagon - No crank, No start. Confusing diagnostics. Help appreciated.

[size=13px]Hello all,

I just obtained a c320 wagon and I'm completely new to Mercedes (come from BMW and Audi world) and am hoping to get some help from those who know more about these cars. This car has a no crank, no start issue. I've searched the forums and googled around, but the answers there haven't helped much unfortunately. I bought an ancel diagnostics tool to get into the modules a little more and start diagnosing. My guess here is that drive authorization is failing and I am not sure why yet. Here is what currently happens:[/size]

1. Key goes in
  2. ESL unlocks (and locks when key is removed)
  3. Dashboard comes on
  4. Key can rotate to all positions
  5. Going to start position does nothing
  6. Putting foot on brake and trying to shift the shifter works. Dashboard shows the correct shifter position.
Things I have tested:
  • All the relevant fuses - 31, 52, 57 - and they are not blown. There is 12V to 31 and 57. I have also tested all the fuses in the engine compartment SAM and they are all good. All fuses have 12V except for 52.
  • Fuse 52 does not get power when turning the key. I read that it only gets powered when the key goes to the start position, but nothing there.
  • I removed the starter relay and shorted pins 3 and 5 and the starter kicked on. I also tried to run the starter while turning the key to start, but the car did not start. Just cranked.
Other notes:
  • Battery was low, but I charged it up and all of this was done on a charger. Voltage was above 12V the whole time.
  • The key does lock and unlock the doors