Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Please help me with my C280

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2006, 02:36 PM
Default Please help me with my C280

Hi, I'm new to this post my name is Tony. I'm looking for a little help. I have a 2000 C280 Sport and my electronics seem to be getting worse. First, my dash is jumbled and barely ever reads correctly (temp, mileage, trip, time). Also, my radio hardly ever works, but the display will read the track number and disc, it's like it's always on mute. Sometimes I'll be driving and it will just kick on, but it usually decides if it wants to work when I start the car up. My SRS light is also on, but I don't think there's anything wrong with it. Basically, I think it might be the wires that run throughout the car and connect all devices together since I have such an array of problems. If you have any idea what it could be or have encountered this problem yourself, please let me know it would be extremely appreciated. P.S. I have heard some thoguhts that it might be a dirty connection and one plug may not be getting enough OHMs, but that's about it. Thanks.

Old 07-28-2006, 03:27 PM
Default RE: Please help me with my C280

I suspect a Control Unit is malfuntioning. Here is something you can try that is free and simple. Disconnect the negative lead from you battery for 30 mins. When you reconnect, your control units will reboot. This may be all that is needed? BTW, you'll need to know your radio code as you will be prompted for it and to manually reboot the windows. Both procedures are very simple and described in your owner's manual. Good luck.

Old 08-18-2006, 11:04 AM