Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice pls.. '99 C280 sport

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2010, 10:29 PM
Default Need advice pls.. '99 C280 sport

Hello All...
I just got my 99 C280 sport package, this is my first time with MB, need some advice, does the automatic climate control has a bulb? mine is so dark at night, or do I have to change the unit?
and my check engine went on just now, but the engine still runs good, all the electricity still works, do I have to go to mechanic to get check? or is there something that i can do before I go to mechanic?

thank you very much.....

Old 03-11-2010, 03:27 PM

You don't have a location listed in your profile, but I'm assuming you are in the US. Therefore you can go to AutoZone etc. parts stores to have them check the code. They will give you the DTC code and based on that you will be able to figure out your course of action.

Or, you can buy an OBD II scanner from a parts store and read the code yourself. You can by them for about 50 bucks, give or take.

Yes, there is a bulb in the climate control unit. Mine is also out. It is located at the bottom of the unit. You need MB/Audi/VW stereo removal tools to remove the unit and then you can access the bulb socket. You can also make the said tool yourself, if you like. There are directions posted somewhere. I bought mine off Ebay for less than 5 bucks shipped.

If the bulb is out, the dealer or some online sellers are the only places to get it. Normal parts stores do not carry it. I actually just today went and bought the bulb from the dealer (~5 bucks) and instead of the 1.2W bulb that was in there, they sold me a 0.5W bulb. The 1.2W is supposedly not available anymore... I'll have to check with some of the online MB parts stores if any of them have it.