Mercedes C Class Mercedes C230 Kompressor, Mercedes C240, Mercedes C280, Mercedes C320, Mercedes C350 Sedans, Coupes, and Wagons.

C230K batter/alternator - subsequent problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2011, 02:23 PM
Default C230K batter/alternator - subsequent problems

Hello everyone - I'm new to this so just thought I'd post a recent experience and would appreciate any feedback.

I bought a used C230 Kompressor about 4 years ago now and up until this past weekend I've really been in love with this car. About 2 weeks ago the red warning light "battery/alternator visit workshop" started to come on. I checked posts on this forum and it seems the most likely suspect was to replace the voltage regulator. Being the lazy lumox that I am, I didn't get round to fixing this problem until too late! (Plus, everything seemed to be functioning fine)

However, on this past Saturday I was losing power going up a slight incline on the highway and had to pull over. I managed to jumpstart my engine and get it home (around 10 miles at this point) but then loads of weird things started happening: First the ABS light, then the SRS light, then the check engine light. What a joy! Around a day before all this happened the "under voltage" warning came on. I'm hoping that I haven't done any further damage to the car by driving the short distance under these conditions but I would dearly love to hear from some feedback from some of the experts and enthusiasts on this forum. Any thoughts as to anything else that may have been affected?