General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

Steering Wheel

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2016, 10:58 AM
Default Steering Wheel

After my last oil change on my 2004 SL500, I complained that the steering wheel has too much free play after the alignment.

Yesterday as I drove in my garage, I herd a pop and lost my steering, My steering wheel can turn in circles and not move the tires. I was lucky that it happen in my garage. I will know on Monday what broke.

It is just odd that every time, I take my car if for service at this new Mercedes dealer, something breaks afterwards.

Old 07-17-2016, 03:09 AM
Default Your and others Safety

Hello, I hope this message arrives in time. I am not an automobile mechanic, in fact I am certified journeyman in another other related field . My comment and advice is this. Call the dealership. Politely ask for the service manager. Politely explain that you have experienced a very serious safety issue with their service . Inform the manager of the work you had performed. < Almost every State and province has a Motor vehicle inspector or the equivalent that will happily deal with the root of this issue >
Steering wheel play that is excessive is a serious safety issue. Life threatening . A competent motor vehicle inspection mechanic should and would FAIL your car and give you a written reason on your work order . The service managers job is to inform his customer of required service, and this is normally put in writing . I would be both angry and terrified that this dealership is failing their public responsibility and a judge may well find them liable. Follow up your complaint in writing to Mercedes Benz, the manager, and your State authorities. You may well save lives.
Further be prepared to use an attorney. Lawsuits are a huge cost of time and money and they will definitely not want negative advertising. They should remedy this issue immediately at their cost . Allan

Old 07-19-2016, 07:55 AM