General Tech Post general Mercedes Tech questions here.

A/C on 300SD

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2006, 10:59 PM
Default A/C on 300SD

Just bought my first Mercedes from my boss (81 300SD), and when I asked him if it had air conditioning he told me no. After some investigation, I found the A/C compressor installed, belt removed, and wires cut. To make it even stranger, the pulley doesn't even seem to line up to the empty pulley on the motor. I'd like to get the A/C working. Can anyone tell me whether I can install a new pulley and belt, re-connect the wires and try it or am I better off buying a new compressor for $500. I am pretty new to this air conditioning thing and I don't fully understand how it works. Any help would be great! thank you!!!

Old 04-30-2006, 11:30 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: A/C on 300SD

Usually no belt, cut wires (don't understand why someone would cut the wires.), means a compressor has locked up and had to cut the belt so the motor would run without burning the old compressor, sending metal shards into A/C units ($4,000grand repair on a SEC.) And possible other engine damage.
The pullies is strange too unless the compressor is not installed straight.

One quick tell-tell sign of a locked up A/C compressor is try moving the compressor clutch/pulley (The part that the belt connects to the compressor.) It should be able to spin freely (assuming the A/C is off) meaning it should be disengaged. If it's stuck, it might be and more than likely locked up.

The easiest way to get to the bottom of this is ask your boss about it. Ask him what happened to the compressor. He should know if there was a new compressor installed recently. If not, then might as well buy a new one.

(Note: Some people opt for used ones, but this is very risky if you are not mechanically inclined and or don't know too much about refrigeration and the what to look for on an properly operating A/C compressor and other components.

Old 05-01-2006, 11:12 PM