Exterior Talk about your rims, body kits, lighting effects and other exterior mods here.

badge removal

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2005, 08:22 PM
Default badge removal

I have a 98 SLK 230 with a white paint finish. I am thinking of removing the badges but am worried about possible difference in the shade of the paint under them. I know it was gargage kept from purchase. Should I be worried?

Also I would like to know if there is an easy way of removing some of the small nics in the paint without going to a body shop. I am a true novice in the paint area so the simpler the better.

Old 10-05-2005, 08:33 PM
Default RE: badge removal

The paint under the badges on a '98 car will look like brand new paint. How does the rest of the car's paint look? Brand new? I doubt it.

I've never seen a good DIY repair job for paint nicks. It's like the guy who wears a really good toupee. You tell him it looks "natural," but he might as well be wearing a sign. I've never heard of an easy way to repair them. It's best to leave small nicks alone.

Old 10-05-2005, 10:56 PM

hmm... yeah i kinda figured that with the badge..
With the nics tho... i looked closer at them and there are a couple down to the metal... best way to prevent rust then?

Old 10-06-2005, 12:36 AM

Buy touch up paint using your paint color code. Wash the nick area with dish soap and warm water and allow to dry. Sand off any rust in the nick using very fine sandpaper. Try not to sand outside of the nick so you don't make the problem worse. Apply paint in very small amounts using the end of a paper match. Apply multiple thin coats to build up enough paint to the thickness of the existing paint. It will look like crap, I promise. It will stop any rusting, though.

You could also forgo the touch up paint and keep a coat of wax on the nicks. You still want to remove any rust, however.

Old 10-06-2005, 02:02 PM