Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

What is the purpose of the vacuum pump

Old 04-28-2014, 07:20 PM
Thumbs down What is the purpose of the vacuum pump

I am aware of all the vacuum operated systems in a W123 style Mercedes... Door locks, sunroof, heater controls. But apart from all that, does the vacuum pump do anything for the engine? The reason I ask is that I bought an OM616 engine (my favorite of all) to swap into my Ford Ranger pickup truck (also my favorite). There would be less clutter without all the pump hardware. Matter of fact, what is the anatomy of the pump anyway? I'm really curious. There is the pulley driven part of it and then the part that fits into the engine. How does it work? I'm a novice and I hope someone would be kind enough to explain.

Old 05-13-2014, 03:52 PM

Originally Posted by frasmus View Post
I am aware of all the vacuum operated systems in a W123 style Mercedes... Door locks, sunroof, heater controls. But apart from all that, does the vacuum pump do anything for the engine? The reason I ask is that I bought an OM616 engine (my favorite of all) to swap into my Ford Ranger pickup truck (also my favorite). There would be less clutter without all the pump hardware. Matter of fact, what is the anatomy of the pump anyway? I'm really curious. There is the pulley driven part of it and then the part that fits into the engine. How does it work? I'm a novice and I hope someone would be kind enough to explain.
"There is the pulley driven part..."
I am not sure what you mean by a Pulley?

If you want to eliminate the Vacuum Pump that is attached to the Engine you need to provide another source of Vacuum for the Vacuum Shutoff on the Fuel Injection Pump or find some manual means to shut the Engine off.

An intermittant Switch and a Small 12 Volt Vacuum Pump might be sufficient to provide Vacuum for shutoff.
On eBay they frequently have small Ford 12 Volt Vacuum Pumps that is ussd to operate the Vacuum Accessories.