Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

shifts at max and NOT before

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2006, 12:50 AM
Default shifts at max and NOT before

o.k. im new at this typing thing so im not the best. i am the proud owner of an 81 300CD with, get this 68,760 ORIGIONAL MILES on it!!! thats the good news! the bad news is it really was neglected. it had 16 oil changes ( my best guess) 5 of which i did in the past year and a half, never had the rear end or transmission fluid serviced, and had the radiator fluid changed once. but it is a beautiful car to look at. reminds me that jessica simpson and brittnay spears is the best music i have ever seen! so here are the problems i am having as a result. about a year ago the transmission started to get lazy and would not shift the same. now it shifts only when the maximum shift points are reached. by max i mean if the throttle were held to the floor through all three shifts it works like it should. but you can creep up on max and it will not shift until it HAS to. example: drive normally to 55 mph and the car stays in third gear and would go in third for weeks or until approx 62 mph is reached and shift. then in fourth i can slow to 40 mph and lean 3/4 or better into the pedal and it will just cruise right back to 65 and not have to down shift to do it. if i force the downshift it does it but it is usually not required. it never was usually required. the shifts are fine if i just put the car to the floor but if i come to them slowley the car is jerkey, as some of you might imagine. in other words it is not slipping and the shifts are very positive. i was leaning toward vacume problems and have replaced those tiny vacume levers and i have the modulator valve and dashpot to replace the old origionals. i need to know if i am going in the right direction and how to set the aftermarket modulator valve upon installation. the car was my mothers who recently passed on and i would really like to keep it. i am