Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

????'s about buying an 87 300sdl

Old 06-14-2006, 12:12 PM
Default ????'s about buying an 87 300sdl

I have found an 87 300sdl for sale with 329000miles. It has been taken to the dealer for all of it's regular maintenance. I am new to diesel engines and older mercedes for that matter. I have owned a 93' E320 and loved it. I have heard these 300 sdl's are pretty bullet proof and will run forever if well cared for.
I am wanting to know what I need to be watchful for before buying. The sole owner said he has not had to put much money into in repairs, he has just done typical maintenance. (will I end up being the one to foot the bill?)-In researching the 300sdl I am seeing there are maybe some things that would need to be done at the 250k mark. I don't want to get in a situation where I am the one that winds up with the expensive repairs.
I did test drive it and noticed it was real slow coming on (kinda anticipated this with the turbo diesel) when it shifted from what I would think was 2nd to third, the shift was somewhat harsh. Is this normal or is there something to be concerned about?
Any help with various things to look for in the maintenance records to assure I am not going to have costly repairs in the near future.
Input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Kevin.

Old 06-14-2006, 12:29 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: ????'s about buying an 87 300sdl

More the most part, all that is need ed to keep these Benzes of them years running is maintence. Usually alot of times when something breaks, it's due to something not being cared for properly (i.e water pump failure and over heating due to a previous owner not using the right coolant and a cheap non-MBZ certified water pump.)