Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

Knock in upper engine 1982 300D

Old 01-26-2010, 09:52 PM
Default Knock in upper engine 1982 300D

I am a diesel noob. I work on my own cars but this is my first diesel.

I got this 300D for 360 bucks plus I had to rent a trailer to bring it home. The car starts just fine, runs and drives, I had it out on the interstate -- it has plenty of power and does not smoke.

What it does have is a knock, somewhere in cyl #1, upper part.

I did most of the "easy stuff" like air cleaner mounts, blowby drain tube, moved the injectors around, replaced motor mounts and engine shocks, did the timing chain stretch key, valve adjustment, new spring for the chain tensioner, compression test.

The most recent thing I did was took the vacuum pump off and started it for a few seconds without, the knock is still there.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXS6iyfgvSw

You can hear the knock over the valve clatter.

Using the stethoscope, the best I can do is "upper part of the engine, cyl #1".

WHats next? Head? What am I looking for if I am taking the head off?

Old 01-27-2010, 12:58 PM

Sounds like a rod or wrist pin. First thing is first though have you made sure the prechamber is in tact. It is very hard to single out the noise at least for me listening to it on the computer. I think you should take the pan off and check the rods.

Last edited by Unknownfl09; 01-27-2010 at 01:05 PM.
Old 01-27-2010, 01:27 PM

Originally Posted by Unknownfl09
First thing is first though have you made sure the prechamber is in tact.
I have not taken the prechamber out (yet), no... I will do that, too.

Old 01-27-2010, 01:59 PM

Once the injector is out, you can then use a screw driver to lightly pry on it to feel if it is broken. Odds are its ok because the sound is to constant from my experience.

Old 01-27-2010, 05:08 PM

Originally Posted by Unknownfl09