Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

Just bought '87 300TD. Numerous issues. HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2011, 05:00 PM
Post Just bought '87 300TD. Numerous issues. HELP!

Good day, all.

I just picked up a 1987 MB 300TD with 228,317 miles. I am new to diesel, and haven't owned a Benz in over 30 years, so I am clueless with what is wrong with my car.

Here are my concerns:

1.) When car first starts, it idles rough and is very noisy (normal diesel noise?). As soon as I get driving down the road, at 1100 rpm or so, the engine quiets right down. Is this normal?

2.) Car idles rough. Doesn't stall, but acts like it wants to. It also seems to chug/lose power momentarily when driving down the road. Doesn't happen all the time, but it can happen at any speed, even at 65 mph. The air filter is clean, and I have just replaced both fuel filters. No help.

3.) Electrical problems - cruise control works/shuts off when it feels like it. Climate control turns on and off, even when it is shut off. Fan will turn itself on, a/c compressor turns itself on/off, all this when the unit is in the "OFF" position. Everything else seems to work.... horn, lights, turn signals, wipers, etc. It does have an aftermarket stereo. Don't know who or how it was installed, but it was supposedly done "professionally".

4.) When closing the sunroof, the air deflector doesn't retract down automatically. I have to hold it down and pinch my finger! Is this a major fix?

5.) Any tricks to getting the 3rd row rear seat to fold down? It seems hung up on the driver's side. The owners manual is worthless in telling how to do it. I have removed the bottom cushion, to no avail.

Thank you for all your patience and consideration. A lot to ask here, but figured I may as well ask it all in one thread rather than making multiple threads.

Old 05-26-2011, 10:32 AM

Originally Posted by ForcedInduction
1 and 2 are caused by a bad glowplug.