Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

hello I'm new ...'85 300d questions.

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2011, 10:10 PM
Default hello I'm new ...'85 300d questions.

hello

I'm new to the forum and last week became the proud and happy owner of a pristine 1985 300d.

I'm currently a student studying mechanical engineering at northern Virginia community college and will be finishing my degree at Virginia Tech.

I hope to go into the automotive industry with an emphasis on alternative fuels.

now about the car.

it's VERY clean no rust and only has 160k mi on it. I know that's a lot for an ordinary car but I understand these things can be found in million mile clubs

what are some basic tips you guys would have, to ensure that I can drive it for the next 10..15 maybe even 20 years?

what are good sources for parts?

how easy is it to work on? seeing as I'll be looking to do most of the work myself.

now here's the big question.

how do I do this to it? and what precautions would I need to take?

YouTube - ‪Top Gear - Vegetable oil for your volvo diesel - BBC‬‏

thanks a lot for any advice you might have

sincerely-Vince

Old 07-05-2011, 10:02 AM

Originally Posted by 3rdvincetheman
hello

I'm new to the forum and last week became the proud and happy owner of a pristine 1985 300d.

I'm currently a student studying mechanical engineering at northern Virginia community college and will be finishing my degree at Virginia Tech.

I hope to go into the automotive industry with an emphasis on alternative fuels.

now about the car.

it's VERY clean no rust and only has 160k mi on it. I know that's a lot for an ordinary car but I understand these things can be found in million mile clubs

what are some basic tips you guys would have, to ensure that I can drive it for the next 10..15 maybe even 20 years?

what are good sources for parts?

how easy is it to work on? seeing as I'll be looking to do most of the work myself.

now here's the big question.