Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

Diesel Knocking/Pinging - High RPM

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 09:44 AM
Default Diesel Knocking/Pinging - High RPM

I have a 1980 240D with about 211K on it. I just noticed at high RPM’s, right before I shift gears, there is a ‘pinging’ or engine knock coming from the engine. There is no knocking/pinging any other time – even at idle and moderate acceleration. As you know, the 240D does run very high rpm’s when traveling on the highway and therefore the pinging is noticeable on the highway now. Any ideas?

Background info: I have been running WVO for about 2000 miles – greasecar system w/fattywagon injection line heaters. I also adjusted the valves about 500 miles ago, however, I just started to notice this problem a couple of days ago. I use Shell Rotella 15W-40 oil. Car runs fine otherwise and does not smoke.

Do you think I should run some diesel fuel cleaner in the diesel tank? Or maybe I should try adding some type of oil additive in the engine? Please advise.

Old 03-16-2006, 11:34 PM
Default RE: Diesel Knocking/Pinging - High RPM

you condition sounds like at higher rpm the injectors are nailing due to them not being able to close off fast enough probably due to some buidup of deposits. I have recently done a diesel purge on my car 187k on it and to say the results was amazing is an understatment. Nailing stopped completely, idle is quieter and milage is better. Advice i received from a diesel mechanic was run two cans through and then add about 8 oz of clean diesel to insure all the purge is out of the fuel filter. then change all filters. You will not believe the old filter on how dirty the oil pours out of it.

Old 03-17-2006, 09:11 PM

Where can I get diesel purge? How do you do the purge?

Old 03-17-2006, 11:37 PM

purge is Lubro Moly, buy it on the internet, cost about 8 bucks or so a can,, you want diesel purge,,