Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

ALDA service and diesel purge questions - 350SDL 1991

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2007, 05:24 PM
Default ALDA service and diesel purge questions - 350SDL 1991

Hi everyone, I'm kind of new to this DIY scene, so please treat me as a novice when answering this post. I'm good with DIY stuff, but I really have no car experience. I'm 19 and going into third year at college, just got this car a few months ago from a friend. Its 1991 350sdl turbo diesel with 280k miles on this baby, but it has a rebuilt engine from around 150k, so i know this car has a lot left in her. All the filters except fuel filters have been changed recently. I checked all the fluids everything is good, and there is only a tiny oil leak- my mechanic said its nothing and i trust him, its small enough that nothing hits the ground under the car.

Anyway, theres two jobs ive been wanting to do, a diesel purge and an ALDA service.

1) Diesel Purge - ive heard nothing but great things about this - but ive heard most people do it when they are having problems like smoke, sluggish performance etc. I dont really have any of these - is it still a good idea to do it? Sometimes I do feel sluggish performance but I think its cause of my turbo. Also when the diesel purge is finished, and I replace the fuel filters, how do i prevent air from getting in - because if it does and my car doesnt start - well my mechanic lives far away from me ...!

2) ALDA - ok this is what i really need help with. I CANT FIND THIS THING ON MY CAR! Its the 603 engine. I really cannot find it it must be hidden. I ve read hte tutorial on diesel giant, but the pics he has up must be of a different engine because mine does not look like that. Is it recommended cleaning the banjo bolt first before tampering with the ALDA.