Diesel Discussions Only diesel topics should be posted here.

87 300sdl need help

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2009, 11:17 PM
Default 87 300sdl need help

Hi. I'm new to the diesel world and the MB world. I am an experienced mechanic from years back and this car is different than any other I have ever worked on so I have a few questions and hope I didn't screw myself buying this car. The most worrysome is I have a noise in the driveline that sounds sort of like a bearing going out but I have not yet been able to pinpoint it's location as the car has to be rolling about 30 or above to really hear it. It kind of sounds like you're driving on knobby mud tires. The sound pitch changes upward with speed increases and downward as speed decreases. I had it on a rack and I have checked all wheels and the driveshaft but don't feel anything abnormal such as roughness in the bearings. Can the transmission be making this noise? The noise remains even if I shut down the engine and coast in neutral. I am stumped and worried.

Aother problem is the A/C doesn't work. I can short across the pressure switch at the receiver/drier and the compressor will only run for a second or two then never again unless I shut down and re-start the engine. I'm guessing the climate control module is bad but I don't even know where it is located. I also do not know where the relay is at. The blower will run and the heater functions but the A/C compressor clutch will not stay energized. AFAIK it still is the R-12 and will probably need conversion to the new stuff.

Finally this may not be a problem but I really don't know. Acceleration from a dead stop is painfully slow untill the engine spools up above 2K RPM then it finally begins to make power. Above 3K RPM the power is real good. Is this normal on a 3 litre turbodiesel?

Thanks,
Steve

Old 09-26-2009, 07:27 AM